In the Late Hours of the Night


11295643_10204225370938052_6183687496491158616_n
In the Late Hours of the Night
It is always in the late hours of the night that my heart cries out, that the tears escape there hiding place.
It is in the darkness that my loneliness invades my thoughts and wells up inside me.
It is in the wee morning hours when most rest peacefully that I toss and turn my heart heavy and my mind refusing to rest.
It is always in the late hours of the night that I see my true reflection, that my heart cries out, reaching into nothingness hoping to find the answers.
It is in my imprisoned soul in the emptiness of the night that the heaviness in my heart threatens to drown me.
Darkness is my emptiness, it’s silence speaks to the silence of my heart.
There is no one to see, no one to hear, as silently tears streak my face and my heart is allowed to break.
In the darkness, in the wee hours of the night I am me. Feeling, releasing, mourning, letting go, so that when the light pours through the window my smile will be bravely in place.
It is always in the late hours of the night.
T. Jordan June 17, 2015
One thought on “In the Late Hours of the Night

Leave a Reply

