Words Have Power!


Words Have Power!

I ran across this poster on Facebook and everyone was commenting on how this should be posted in every school. They were talking about how every child should read this. They talked about bullying. What I found interesting though is not one person mentioned how this applies to us.
The way we talk to our self and about our self is something every individual male or female, adult or child should pay attention to.
Have you ever looked in the mirror and thought “I am so ugly.”
Have you ever messed something up and said to yourself “You are so stupid”
Have you ever lost a relationship and told yourself “If only I was…(fill in the blank) He/She would have loved me and stayed”
All these negative things we say to our self-tear us down.
Our words have power is almost an understatement. Our words can be a weapon that destroys us or another person or they can be the medicine that heals.
You have to make a choice to stop using words as a weapon against yourself. Stop lying to yourself about who you are. Speak positive things into your life. Place affirmations around your house and read them daily. Look in the mirror and tell yourself you are worthy, you are beautiful, you are strong! Surround yourself with people who build you up, who affirm who you really are.
I know it’s not easy I’m one of the worst ones. Having been over weight most of my life I am extremely hard on myself and fight to keep a healthy positive self-image of myself. I lose the fight some days but I am learning that I do not have to be a victim anymore. I have a choice to be a conqueror, to ignore people and their words, and to stop talking to myself negatively. I am learning that I am worthy!
Do you know that you are WORTHY? Do you know that you can decide today to start loving yourself? Do you know that you do not have to be a victim anymore? You aren’t alone. We can fight this together! Starting today!

6 thoughts on “Words Have Power!

  1. I remind myself daily that I am and will be wonderful as long as I love myself. I like to ask kids if they would be friends with someone who talked to them in the ways we sometimes berate ourselves. I was friends with my inner enemy for too long. That relationship is OVER and it will never start up again. 🙂

    Great post to remind us all that we are worthy until we believe in a person or culture that decides we are not.

Leave a Reply

