Just One 80 Year Old Woman!!!


It has truly been an exciting few days. We held yet another Rummage to raise money to get our start-up costs to open our non-profit and although it is a slow process I am blessed daily by the interaction among the community. I am reminded every day that people are full of generosity and that there is still way more good in this world than bad no matter what we see on the news everyday.

Let me just share with you the blessing of one 80-year-old woman whom I will never forget. On the second day of our rummage we had just finished setting up and low and behold it started raining. Now this shouldn’t shock me considering I live in Oregon, but unfortunately silly me was not prepared for rain and had to start grabbing sheets and blankets and covering whatever I could up. I was so frustrated and wasn’t sure if we should pack it all in or pray for the best. Well we decided to pray for the best, and as always God answered. Before it even stopped raining good, with everything still covered up people started pulling into the rummage sale just from the intrigue of what was under the sheets. I had to laugh out loud.

One of the customers that pulled up was my new friend 80-year-old Lil. She looked around for a minute and motioned me over to her asking me prices of somethings that weren’t marked and then telling me just to walk with her in case she had other questions. Then she went through and started pointing, “I want that, that, oh yes and that, oh don’t forget that.” she says. Once she has paid for her purchases and everything is sacked she thanx us and heads to her car. Then she comes back, “you know I have tons of sacks at home, could your son come home with me and I’ll bring him back with them?” Now any other time I would have said no, but I couldn’t tell this woman no if my life depended on it. She takes my son to her house which is just up the street and brings him back with tons of sacks and newspapers for wrapping breakables. At this time she had to leave and head to DMV to renew her handicap licence and about an hour later here she comes again.

Now she made me smile because she was grinning ear from ear, “Tammy come here” she motions me to her van. ” I can’t believe I did this” she says with a voice full of excitement as her face lights up with pride. ” I went to ace hardware with your flier and asked them to donate a roll of plastic in case it rains again. He told me no I’m sorry we have already given all the donations we can this quarter. I asked him now who told you that? He says the big boss. I say who your Dad? (LOL) He says no actually my Mom.” At this I just had to laugh. She continues on, “Tammy I told him to please go call his mother and ask because this is a great cause and guess what she was in the back room so he went and asked her and she donated a roll and I bought you a roll. Hopefully it’s enough to cover your tables.” She then proceeded to tell me the best way to utilize it and exactly what to do.

Now I just want to cry, not only because she thought so much of our cause but because she went out of her way to help us. I don’t think she will ever know just how deeply her small gesture touched my life. I made sure to leave her a thank you note on her front door the next day since my son had gone to her house we knew where she lived. But just that sweet gesture made my entire weekend. And that wasn’t even the only act of kindness. People have been showing up with donations, calling us for pick ups, giving us tons of ideas and praying for us. I feel so extremely blessed and if there was ever any doubt in my mind that this was God’s leading it’s gone. He has over and over again confirmed that it is His will. And as scary as it is to step out on faith knowing that my husband is leaving a well-paying job with benefits and we have nothing but our faith to live on, I know it’s what we are supposed to do. I know God has it all in control and he reminds me every day.

This is what we are meant to be doing, this is where our hearts have always been. We fought against it due to fear but the funny thing about it is God ALWAYS gets His way!!! 🙂

I hope my story blesses you in some way, and that when you wake up tomorrow you wake up and prepare yourself to look for the good in people instead of the bad. That you expect the good to over shadow the bad and that you remember that you have the authority to walk all over Satan and not allow his negativity and lies into your life. Go out and find the good and if you can’t find it create it!!! God bless. xoxoxo

One thought on “Just One 80 Year Old Woman!!!

  1. HI ALL IS MORNDAY ,,,WE THANK YOU FATHER FOR A NEW DAY……
    Psalm 27 (NKJV)

    27 The Lord is my light and my salvation;
    Whom shall I fear?
    The Lord is the strength of my life;
    Of whom shall I be afraid?
    2 When the wicked came against me
    To eat up my flesh,
    My enemies and foes,
    They stumbled and fell.
    3 Though an army may encamp against me,
    My heart shall not fear;
    Though war may rise against me,
    In this I will be confident.

    4 One thing I have desired of the Lord,
    That will I seek:
    That I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    All the days of my life,
    To behold the beauty of the Lord,
    And to inquire in His temple.
    5 For in the time of trouble
    He shall hide me in His pavilion;
    In the secret place of His tabernacle
    He shall hide me;
    He shall set me high upon a rock.

    6 And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me;
    Therefore I will offer sacrifices of joy in His tabernacle;
    I will sing, yes, I will sing praises to the Lord.

    7 Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice!
    Have mercy also upon me, and answer me.
    8 When You said, “Seek My face,”
    My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.”
    9 Do not hide Your face from me;
    Do not turn Your servant away in anger;
    You have been my help;
    Do not leave me nor forsake me,
    O God of my salvation.
    10 When my father and my mother forsake me,
    Then the Lord will take care of me.

    11 Teach me Your way, O Lord,
    And lead me in a smooth path, because of my enemies.
    12 Do not deliver me to the will of my adversaries;
    For false witnesses have risen against me,
    And such as breathe out violence.
    13 I would have lost heart, unless I had believed
    That I would see the goodness of the Lord
    In the land of the living.

    14 Wait on the Lord;
    Be of good courage,
    And He shall strengthen your heart;
    Wait, I say, on the Lord
    …….

Leave a Reply

