I’m Back!


Three beautiful HER's

Wow! Let me just tell you I have missed you guys. Funny since I don’t know most of you. However, I was welcomed so quickly into this community of bloggers that I feel like part of a family. No I’m not a stalker. Anyway, let me catch you up.

Mostly I’ve just been real busy dealing with a bunch of sickness. First my youngest was home for over a week with God knows what, then my oldest daughter was home for a week plus sick all spring break, come to find out she had strep throat. Then there is me I was dealing with a sore throat for two weeks that then decided to turn into the full fledged flu for another week. I’m still trying to get rid of the sore throat and cough.

Let me back up a little though.

Michela...one of the beautiful HER's of Her Nation

Before my sore throat turned into the flu I had an amazing experience and I want to share it with you. I’ve talked many times about my friend who wrote the book When I Am Her. Well on March 31st we had a book launch party to help get her name out there and spread the news of Her Nation and what that is all about.

Surprisingly I wasn’t really nervous or so I thought I wasn’t until I caught myself basically eating everything and anything I could get my hands on. At least I didn’t feel nervous though. Anyway, Mish and I hosted the party and invited all our friends and family out to meet Chivon and hear about the book. We ended up with approx. 30 women who showed up and I want to say 30 women who had their lives changed forever.

Valencia...one of the beautiful HER's of Her Nation

It was such a fantastic turn out. I don’t think there was a dry eye in the room. Mish, Valencia, and myself told our stories of finding our HER and realizing there was more to us than just being so and so’s husband, or little Mickey’s mom. Mish shared her story of finding herself again after years of domestic violence and simply being broken. Valencia shared her story of being torn down, and belittled by someone close to her and how she is just now looking in the mirror and realizing she is pretty and she is somebody. Then there is me, I spoke about my struggles with self-worth, hating the women I looked at in the mirror, and how much I’ve grown and changed since realizing I’m worth it. I think between the three of us we hit an emotional place for every woman in that room, but just in case we didn’t. There was always Chivon the author of When I Am Her. She read from her book and spoke about different things that affect us as women such as our relationships with our fathers.

It truly was an inspirational time. Many women came up to us afterwards wanting to have that same break through and they signed up to do the exHERcise with Chivon. Many where crying as they spoke to us, touched by the stories of our lives. What truly amazed me the most though was the women that I knew personally that came up to me and said, “I would have never known you felt that way, or that you were going through that”. It truly surprised me that the self-loathing I had for myself, or the insecurities I had could not be seen by those around me. I realized in that moment just how much I am my own worst enemy.

Valencia, Mish, and Tammy (me)

The event truly was a blessed event and I’m so excited to see where my friend Chivon’s dream takes her as she continues to reach out to women and help them find the best within themselves. I am blessed to be able to see transformations taking place in women I’ve known all my life and I’m even more blessed as I see women I don’t know reach out there hand and ask for help realizing they are not alone in their journey.

If you would like to learn more about When I Am Her, or Her Nation please check out the website at http://www.thehernation.com or http://www.chivonmorris.com

Author of When I Am Her, Chivon Morris

So that is what’s been going on in my life, oh wait I also had a jewelry show and a fundraiser during this time frame that I’ve been gone. Jewelry shows are what I do for a living I come to your house with all my pretty bling and meet with your friends and family for a girl’s night out and we play in the jewelry, eat, drink, and laugh. I love my job. (So if anyone wants to do a catalog party, or lives in the Beaverton area and wants to do a jewelry show, hit me up) hahaha…yeah I had to get my plug in.

ME!

I have to admit, although I still have my up’s and down’s like we all do I am the most content and happy I have ever been in years and it feels damn good.

7 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. Hi Tammy,
    It definitely sounds like it was an amazing event. Well done to you & your friends! Continue to inspire those around you. Thank you for sharing this with us. It is truly encouraging. Have a fab new week.
    God bless xox

Leave a Reply

