I Won’t Let Go


I bought the Rascal Flatts CD, “Nothing Like This” today and I was just casually listening, enjoying the music and then BAM! The last song comes on and I’m in tears listening to the beautiful words. You know when you find that song that you just keep playing over and over again. This was that song; I couldn’t get enough of it.

I just kept imagining being stuck in this point in life, feeling hopeless and lost, and someone reaching down and pulling me to my feet. Telling me “I will dry your eyes, I will fight your fight, I will hold you tight”. Can you just put yourself in someone else’s shoes right now or maybe this is even you. Someone who is struggling, who feels there is nothing left, they can’t fight anymore, they have shed their last tear, they just want it over. Then can you imagine for just one moment someone putting their hand out to you, pulling you into their arms and telling you “I will fight your fight”
.
The relief those words would give this person, the thought of not being alone, of having someone by their side, of not having to be strong all the time.

That is what God does for us. He fights our fights. He dries our tears. He holds us tight. He wants to take on the burden for us, if we just give it to Him. It hurts Him to see us suffering, He calls out to us over and over again but we don’t listen. He knows we are in a dark place and wants to pull us out of it, but instead he waits to catch us because we choose to stay where we are. God is our rescuer, our healer, our provider, our comforter, if we just open our heart to Him. He is waiting.

Now I realize this song isn’t about God, but when I listened to it God is all I heard speaking to me. Take a listen. I’ve included the lyrics so you don’t miss anything. 🙂

I Won’t Let Go by Rascal Flatts

It’s like a storm
That cuts a path
It’s breaks your will
It feels like that
You think your lost
But your not lost on your own
Your not alone

I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
If you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I wont let go

It hurts my heart
To see you cry
I know it’s dark
This part of life
Oh it finds us all
And we’re too small
To stop the rain
Oh but when it rains

I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I wont let you fall

Don’t be afraid to fall
I’m right here to catch you
I wont let you down
It wont get you down
Your gonna make it
Yea I know you can make it

Cause I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
And I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I wont let go

Oh I’m gonna hold you
And I wont let go
Wont let you go
No I wont

2 thoughts on “I Won’t Let Go

Leave a Reply

