How Bad Do You Want Success?


Eric Thomas is an inspiration to me. I had never heard this man speak before until just about a week ago. Then one of my friends on Facebook posted this video and it struck a chord with me. Have you ever asked yourself how bad do you want success? What are you willing to do to achieve success? What will you sacrifice for success? Have you ever even stopped to define what success means to you?

I hadn’t really asked myself any of these questions. I just knew that I wanted success at the things I did in life. It hasn’t been that long that I finally started coming out of my shell and actually living life. And up until a couple years ago I would have to say I haven’t been successful at much. I also, must admit though that I hadn’t really tried to be successful at much.

But this week as I asked myself the questions above I started to see a vision of the success I have already created in my life and then I saw all the success awaiting me if I was willing to work for it.

The video says you have to want it as bad as you want to breathe, that you have to want it so bad you may forget to eat for days. How bad do you want success? Right now I’m at a point in my life that I want it more then I want to breathe. I’m so desperate to be successful at my life and not end it wondering where the time went that I’m ready to jump into the fire even if I get burned.

I started a direct sales jewelry business last year and I’ve done okay with it, but I’ve not pushed as hard as I can partly because as much as I want to be successful, success scares the hell out of me. I love the company I work with and I love what I do, so why be afraid of the success of something I love? I’ll figure it out one day.

That was just one are of my life I want success in, I also want to see success in my weight loss, not because I want to be skinny but because I want to have the chance to be a successful grandma and that won’t happen at the rate I’m going. I want success in my marriage, my family, and my finances. I want success as a writer. I’d love to write a book or blog and it turn into a paying gig. I want to be successful as an inspirational speaker (which by the way I’ve only recently decided I want to do) and I want to be successful with Her Nation a non-profit my friend is starting up that empowers women. But most of all I just want to be able to look back and say that in my life I loved with all that was in me, I did the best I could, I pushed hard, and I didn’t let fear hold me down. If I can say those things and I continued to push through even when I don’t think I can, then I will be able to say I am successful.

The dictionary.reference.com says that success is the favorable outcome of something attempted or the attainment of wealth, fame, etc. but we all have our own definition of success, what is your definition of success?

18 thoughts on “How Bad Do You Want Success?

  1. That’s great that you are asking yourself questions that will help you grow and succeed. I have taught myself to ask and listen a lot this past year. At first it was just in response to others, but now I ask and listen to myself as well. Does that make sense? I ask myself these questions, Why am I doing this? What do I want? What I am afraid of? How can I move past this? I am starting to trust my own instincts and I am liking that.

    • Great questions, and I ask myself those as well, especially when I’m facing something that scares me. Like singing a solo at church around the holidays. I have wanted to do it for so long but I was to scared. I asked myself those questions then. I couldn’t give myself a good answer lol so I made a deal with my sister-in-laws that if they did a praise dance I would sing. Oh were they all to thrilled to do it just to get me up there. But that was my way of holding myself accountable and not backing out once I committed. I did it! woohoo, and it felt so dang good. Once we allow ourselves to step outside our fear, I believe success is inevitable.

  2. I have found – for me – that thinking in terms of success or failure is limiting. I think in terms of doing or not doing. I either reach the goal or do not reach the goal. I either did the things necessary to reach or achieve it (whatever “it” may be) or I did not do the things necessary.

    I think people tend to associate their self-image and self-worth to closely with “successes” and “failures.” They tend to think in terms of “I failed” which can lead them to believe “I am a failure” and this is not the case. Equally misleading is, “I succeeded” which leads to the mindset “I am a success” which, again, may also be untrue. If a person “succeeds” and they do not perform well the next time on the task, the start to berate themselves and think “I must not be a success after all and if I’m not a success, I must be a failure.”

    Again, for me, I either did it or I did not do it. It’s the “doing” that matters and if you think yourself a failure, you will not want to do anything. (Just my two cents.) Great post!

    • Love how you broke that down. I can agree with you especially with people who tend to beat themselves up. I guess for me the key is to first define what success is to each individaul person. For me, success is not in what I did or did not do, it is in wether or not I tried. I consider myself a success even when I fail as long as I tried. Ya know what I mean. And in thinking like that I’ve pretty much eliminated failure from my life. 🙂

  3. You are a success. Your blog is beautiful — your words inspiring. Keep it up. Continue to be you and the success will constantly flow in your direction. Stay focused on what you’re doing today. Forget about what might happen tomorrow and throw fear out the window.

  4. Pingback: How To Be successful Decide

  5. Pingback: Day 07: What is your definition of success « It is a Strange Life… and I'm loving it!

Leave a Reply

