It’s Just Me


I figure for my first post I should introduce myself and let you get to know the Me I have not to long ago been introduced too. My name is Tammy I’m a mother of 4 beautiful children who often drive me insane, and I’m a wife of 13 years to a gorgeous man who most days I adore. I live a very hectic life which I’m sure you can imagine based off the fact I have 4 kids and I am constantly running and doing for everybody else but me. Well I had been constantly doing that until I learned that focusing on me, my health, my dreams, my needs, my wants was just as important as focusing on everybody else’s. That might sound selfish to you, and in away it probably is. But one thing I have learned over the years is that every once in a while we need to be just a little selfish.

It wasn’t to long ago that I realized I was wearing so many different hats that I didn’t recognize myself anymore. I was the wife, the mother, the daughter, the sister, the office manager, the student, the helper, the counselor, the best friend, the taxi, you name it I was it. But what I never was, was ME! In my desire to make EVERYONE happy I forgot that I belonged in that group of people who I called EVERYONE. I didn’t place enough worth on me and when I did do something for myself I felt guilty. Doesn’t seem right does it? Unfortunately this life I describe is not just me, many of us women tend to fall into this trap, this mindset, that it is selfish to put ourselves first even just for a little while. I’m here today though to break that mindset, to stomp it into the dirt and to remind you that YOU ARE WORTH IT!!!!

We can go through life focused on everyone else or we can learn to balance our lives and realize that we can all have it all!!! It is within everyone’s reach. It is up to each individual though to make their life what it was meant to be. The number one thing I believe women need to understand is that it is NOT their job to make everyone happy. As soon as I realized this, I was able to start fixing me. Does that mean I’m not a people pleaser anymore? Ahhhh NO!! What it means is that I now see the value in myself and recognize that if I don’t take care of me, If don’t grow the beautiful woman inside of me then I am robbing my family, my friends, and anyone else who enters my life for however long it may be of knowing ME! I am unable to give completely of myself to others If I am unable to first give to myself and take care of me.

It took me awhile to get to this point and I was blessed to have wonderful friends and family around that already saw in me what I never allowed myself to see. There is this magnificent woman inside me, this person who for years has screamed and fought to be seen. And finally minute by minute, hour by hour I am slowly releasing HER from the prison I locked her in and giving her permission to live up to her fullest potential. She is slowly beginning to see HER worth! I’d like to invite you to look inside yourself and see your worth!

“I will take care of me for you, if you will take care of you for me. ”
― E. James Rohn

One thought on “It’s Just Me

  1. Beautifully said and written. I, too, loved the quote. This is a very powerful message. One that reminds us, whether at the beginning of a new year or the end of one, that becoming your very best and seeing yourself as worthy is a benefit to everyone else around you. I love the woman you were, are and will be!

    xoxo,
    Chivon

Leave a Reply

